Closed Thread

Old 11-05-2008, 08:47 PM   #1
Rumble

Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Default Restoring contacts.

Please Login to Remove!

I'm VERY new to the BES support (or IT support for that matter) in my company. I'm very sure that I'm not the first person with this scenario so if anyone can offer some advice, I would greatly appreciate it!

User left company A to join company B (my company). He was with Telus, and we are with Rogers. He needs to move the Contacts in his Telus BB to a new Rogers BB at our company.

He is no longer on company A BES but still has IT policies on his BB. I want to somehow back up his contacts and be able to move.

I have tried to activate his Telus BB on company B BES but as you know, it rejects his Telus BB.

To keep his Contacts intact, I cannot wipe his Telus BB.

Will there be a problem with the following:

Install BB Desktop Manager and sync Telus BB with his Outlook client that is part of our MS Exchange.

Move the Telus phone number to Rogers, assign it to a new BB device.

Activate Rogers BB with our BES and sync up with the Outlook contacts.

Can this be done?

I'm just wary that I can't force a sync with his Telus BB to our Outlook environment.

Burton
Old 11-05-2008, 09:24 PM   #2
soupandsandwich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumble View Post
Install BB Desktop Manager and sync Telus BB with his Outlook client that is part of our MS Exchange.

Move the Telus phone number to Rogers, assign it to a new BB device.

Activate Rogers BB with our BES and sync up with the Outlook contacts.

Can this be done?
This should work fine, as long as the IT Policy currently on the Telus BB permits syncing via Desktop Manager.

If it doesn't you may need to manually remove the IT policy and then do a USB cable sync with Desktop Manager.

Old 11-05-2008, 09:26 PM   #3
bbxpert
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 7100i
Carrier: nextel